top of page

G7 to take further steps if Russia does not stop its 'aggression'

The leaders of the Group of Seven (G7) industrialized nations said Sunday they will continue to take steps if Russia does not stop its “war of aggression” against Ukraine.

The leaders of Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the UK and the US held a video conference chaired by German Foreign Minister Annalena Baerbock and also attended by Ukrainian Foreign Minister Dmytro Kuleba.

According to a statement after the meeting, they condemned "Russia’s war of aggression against Ukraine, enabled by Belarus."

"The G7 have brought forward massive and coordinated sanctions, including on Belarus as it facilitates the Russian assault," the statement said.

They called on Russia to "immediately stop the ongoing assault."

"Russia will be held responsible for any damage its military aggression inflicts on Ukraine and its population as well as on internationals and their property," it added.

Russia’s attack on Ukraine has entered its fifth day, with the latest reports indicating that Russian troops are heading toward the capital, Kyiv.


bottom of page