top of page

Greek parliament rejects censure motion against government

The government of Greek Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis won a confidence vote late Sunday after a censure motion proposed by the main opposition Syriza party was rejected.

Following the end of a roll call vote, 156 lawmakers voted against the motion from the 157 members of parliament (MPs) of the ruling New Democracy party, 142 for, and one present.

New Democracy MP Marietta Giannakou was hospitalized late Saturday in the intensive care unit (ICU) of the 251 Hellenic Air Force General Hospital after a fall.

The censure motion was introduced Thursday by Syriza’s leader and former Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras, who said a series of crises including the coronavirus pandemic, price hikes for food and other staples and the government’s handling of last week’s snowstorm prove that “Mitsotakis and his government are ineffective and dangerous for the country."

The heated debate over the censure motion started on Friday but peaked on Sunday with Mitsotakis slamming Tsipras.

The motion is a "desperate attempt" by the main opposition leader to "staunch wounds within his own party," the prime minister said in parliament.

“You announced that I am finished politically. I imagine this forecast is as accurate as when you said there was not a chance in a million that Mitsotakis will win the elections,” Mitsotakis added, addressing Tsipras.


bottom of page