top of page

Japan issues new travel advisory for UK, Denmark, other nations

Japan on Tuesday announced fresh travel measures for several countries with mandatory three-day COVID-19 quarantine for those coming from the UK, Denmark, Kazakhstan, and Tunisia.

Katsunobu Kato, chief Cabinet secretary and top spokesman for the Japanese government, told a news conference that new measures will apply from Friday to all new entries and returnees, Tokyo-based Kyodo News reported.

Besides, he added, the quarantine period has been extended to ten days from current six days for those coming from India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and the Maldives.

Meanwhile, the US asked its citizens not to travel to Japan “due to the coronavirus situation in the country.”

It updated its travel advisory on Japan to the highest on its four-tier scale – Level 4: Do Not Travel.

“Travelers should avoid all travel to Japan,” the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said.

According to the office of Japanese prime minister, the country has registered 718,864 coronavirus cases, including 12,312 deaths.


bottom of page