top of page

Top European football clubs announce breakaway league

Several major football clubs announced Sunday that they had reached an agreement to establish a new mid-week competition – the Super League – despite earlier objections by UEFA, European football's governing body.

According to a statement by the newly formed league, it will be governed by its “founding clubs” including AC Milan, Arsenal, Atletico Madrid, Chelsea, Barcelona, Inter Milan, Juventus, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid and Tottenham Hotspur. In addition, another three teams are expected to join.

The statement said the clubs looked forward to holding discussions with UEFA and FIFA, the international governing body of football, although UEFA said earlier that it would take measures to "stop this cynical project," claiming it would serve the interests of only a few clubs.

The president of Real Madrid, Florentino Perez, will serve as the Super League’s first chairman, according to the statement.


bottom of page